Interconnected Humour!

I am in love with Andrew Tanenbaum coz of his “Computer Networks” textbook. The book is full of his anecdotes hidden in tiny nooks and corners- right from poking humour at politics to sarcasm at relationships. Its delightful and makes me smile, even when I am trying to study seriously! sample this:

One of the cost effective ways to transport data between computers is to use magnetic media. An industry standard Ulterium tape holds 200 gigabytes. A box of 60cmX60cmX60cm can hold 1000 such tapes with a total capacity of 200 terabytes and it can be delivered anywhere in the USA in 24 hours by Federal Express. The effective bandwidth of this transmission is 1600 terabits/86400 sec, or 19 Gbps. No computer network can even approach this.
The moral of the story: Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway!

~ by sleepwalker on May 11, 2005.

3 Responses to “Interconnected Humour!”

  1. damn, I shuda paid more attention while I was studying! (tryin to!) i love the cover tho! šŸ˜€ thatz as far as I got! :p

  2. hiiii shub…. nice to see you here
    do keep coming and commenting šŸ™‚

  3. Lolz…I never paid attention to all that !
    Only thing I noticed in Tanenbaum’s books was, most of the topics were left half explained for ‘ will be explained later’ ..

Comments are closed.

 
