I got a job!

I have got a job through oncampus placement, despite of still being in the third year of my B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering, and an year more to go till I complete my engineering. No prizes for guessing the company which recruited me.
Everything happened so suddenly, I dont even remember half of what all the experience was. The process was very stressful. “The company’s” HR department reached the college at 9 AM sharp and started off with the Pre-placement talk. Next was the aptitude test of 30 minutes….. I cleared that and then were the feared Group Discussions…. the topic was “Aping the west”… GD results were out in one hour… during that time I was roaming around here and there since I had nothing else to do, I couldnt make myself concentrate anywhere else. Finally the results were out and then I was in.. The next was the HR and Technical personal interviews. The HR and tech interviewers were in the “interrogation” room, throwing technical and HR bombs at me all at once… the interview lasted almost 20 minutes… then the most stressful 5 hours of my life followed during which I had to wait for them to finish off the interviews and declare the result. Finally at 6 PM, the HR team of “the company” walked into the lecture theatre and spent a good 20 minutes chit chatting with the students, without declaring the result, with the list in their hand, escalating the tension further for me…. and then they decided to start off reciting the names…. I heard my name and my heart stopped. I couldnt believe my ears…
I still dont believe that I have a job, I am just 20 years old…. I still walk up to the notice board to see my name in the list {after every 2 hours} just to make sure that it wasnt a dream…. my brain feels weightless. I dont know how to react. I cant jump with joy, everything seems normal…. serene

I lost a website and all my blog entries when my webhost suddenly decided to go out of business. However I restored the most recent backup that I had, but the rest of the site shall take some time to come up

~ by sleepwalker on June 14, 2005.

14 Responses to “I got a job!”

  1. First of all — CONGRATS!!!!!! I think a treat will be due. πŸ™‚ Hope that the treat is soon. πŸ™‚ So now you are also entering the corporate world! Have you told you more abt. your job, where you will be stationed, what’s the position, etc???

    Yup..that’s great for 20 yrs old, this company is a good place to start. πŸ™‚ All the best to you!!

    sorry to hear abt. your website, was wondering what was the cause of the change of template. πŸ™„ Hope you get everything restored with your previous template the way you want. πŸ™‚

  2. Geeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!! thanks Poonam. you’re such a sweetheart!
    Yep a treat is due, definitely. anywhere you say, anytime you want….. its still almost an year left for me to enter the corporate world….. I have just cleared my third year college and the entire fourth year of slogging out is till remaining. the job starts in May 2006, the first three months shall be the induction training at hyderabad, which is supposed to be the toughest and most comprehensive training in the world for any IT firm….. the job profile is for software development, and initially the first year shall be spent in hyderabad, and after that they can send me anywhere in 48 countries… the position is “fresher engineer” or something similar, basically its a slang for fresh computer engineers, just out of campus. and by the time I join “the company” I shall be 21 yrs and some months old….

    yep will get back to my previous website and template soon and even restore the previous website name, just some problems at the service provider’s back end…..

    Thanks for you wishes, everybody is happy around me…. Life is suddenly looking up!

  3. I am glad dizzy! You deserve it! πŸ™‚

    When I was in college, I used to work as an intern for quite a big company (Fortune 100), Caterpillar, and they have lots of their development work given to your company. So you never know, you might end up over this way.

    Btw – later on two or three years down the line if you want to come to the US, let me know as I still have those contacts from your company that can really help and get you here. πŸ™‚

    Good to see that life is looking up for you. i know that you were down for a while but i bet its a great feeling knowing that you have one year left of college and your job life is set. Its really a great feeling. πŸ™‚

    Take care and all the best!

  4. Congrats !!!

    And Yahhhhhoooooooooo!!!!!!!!!! for all SIFY users….. πŸ˜‰

  5. Thaanks Ankur………. Now I am looking forward to working at this company, in hyderabad or bangalore, even though its about 7 months left to go and I need to slog more for my seventh semester……..
    Hey Poonam, thanks, will definitely tell you. Yup life’s lookin great and now hope to meet you one day!

    I dont know why some comments are randomly going into moderation, even my own… mybe I need to know about the new wordpress a bit more

  6. Congratulations and celebrations…big time !!!!!!!

    Now, I am proud of myself ..why ? Because I know a twenty something working in “that company” !
    Lolz..congrats ..I am happy for you πŸ™‚

    And about the site..Its bad..time to sue those people….But I guess, you installed WordPress/Kubrick right ?
    Its looking good.
    And after you finish off with getting things back properly on your blog… do assist me to change the look n feel of my blog…in case the mighty and the busy you got time for a lil round creature like me !!

    Lolz..

    But..happy journey on the pathway of jobs πŸ˜‰

    PS : I need a treat and you need to come down to wherever I am and treat me with gol-gappa and barf-ka-gola

  7. Congrats!! “that company” is a very nice company!!

    Getting placed in the 3rd year itself is great news…!! πŸ™‚

  8. Debalina thaaank you….. and yes the treat is definite, anytime you say, anywhere you want….. sure will help you with any template problems, but ur an expert- ur place is looking absolutely fabulous.

    Hey thanks Manpreet……
    and best of luck for the life that lies ahead for u at bombay!

  9. hi dizzy , this is neha again. I have got admission in JIET(GUNA) in electronics & communication but since i stay in delhi, i want to get transferred to JIIT(NOIDA). Is there any possibility or way through which i
    can join JIIT(NOIDA). Please advice. WAITING FOR YOUR REPLY.
    THANKS FOR THE PREVIOUS MAIL.

  10. Hello sir, i m 2nd year cse student in Jiit noida,… First of all ,Congrats for ur selection ,I met your mother in these summer holidays,(Krishnadutt yoga ashram ,delhi)…. (actually my mom shared the general room ther, with ur mom) and she told me everythin bout u…
    I have my own website but after seeing ur website,i wud advise u not to open mine….. !
    do you have a software for voice to text conversion or u ve a good typing speed ?(think the latter is true ? hmmm)

  11. congrats
    hope now u will learn to sit from 9am(day 1) to 9am(day 2)
    afterall u are a IT professional

  12. one mare news
    Siddeshwar sir(The best senior anyone will ever have!!!!)has got himself placed in naukari.com
    will now handle the working of the company and site involved in providing naukari to lot of other job aspirants.
    All the best to all of you.

  13. hey

  14. congrat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.

 
