Daddy……

I grew up calling him “Daddy”, coz that what we used to hear mummy and papa calling him. The entire family, all my friends, and relatives, even college buddies call him “Daddy”. When I had just entered school, he used to carry me on his shoulders and take me to the school bus. When I changed schools, he visited the principal endlessly everyday, to get me enrolled. When I grew up a little more, and the bus stop shifted to across the road, he used to accompany me every morning and receive me in the afternoons. Those endless visits to the dentists to get my cavities filled. He is my grandfather, still has all his teeth, he never had cavities, ever. Once he took me to the dentist, there was a big line at the clinic, when my turn came, we walked into the cabin.When the dentist saw daddy, he said “aao papa-ji chair mein baitho”, then daddy told him, that even though he might be 80 years old, all his teeth were perfect- today he had brought his 8 year old grandson to be treated. He never ate non-veg all his life, never even had tea, goes on long walks everyday. He reads the entire newspaper cover to cover everyday, despite the fine printing. He can give an enlightening talk about politics of any corner of the world. He knows better English than me. He even used to drive two-wheelers till the age of 82. Today is his birthday, he has completed 92 years. Happy Birthday Daddy. Hope you have many many healthy years ahead.

~ by sleepwalker on July 4, 2005.

7 Responses to “Daddy……”

  1. Wow that is just great!! A very HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! And many many more years to come!!! 🙂 All the very best and very sweet post dizzy. 🙂

  2. Hey poonam…… I did convey ur wishes to daddy, but he was amazed as to how I could have a friend in a remote corner of the world without meeting up with her or talking to her ever on phone! hmmmmm……

  3. hey dizzy.. ws just surfing n visited ur site.. 🙂 a very happy bday to ur “daddy” 🙂

  4. (hello dizzy )
    respected Dadaji
    a very happy birthday to you (though belated)

    surely you are the best batsman on the pitch of life.
    I salute you for this sound technique of maintaining health and happiness.
    All the best……………………………………………..cont……….
    ………………………………………………….cont………………………………..
    cont……………………………………cont………………………………

    with regards
    Pratul Guatam

  5. Happy Bday to the great man 🙂

    He resembles my grand dad he is 85 though 🙂

  6. Great!!!
    Wish him a belated Happy Brthday…

    BTW, I also don’t take Non-Veg and never had any Tea 🙂

  7. this post is real cool…its wonderful to c hw much u luv ur grandad…belated happy birthday to ur grandad…he sounds every lil bit like my grandad…..nd oh yeah…thanx for writing such wonderful stuff abt ur VC…hes my dad….

Comments are closed.

 
